An arrest for an Extreme or Super Extreme Driving Under the Influence or DUI charge in Scottsdale is a serious event that will have major implications on your future if you are convicted. After an arrest for an Extreme or Super DUI, it is imperative that you immediately contact a seasoned Extreme DUI defense attorney to protect your rights who can present a thorough defense as Extreme DUI cases often go to trial. Having a determined, tough litigator who is proficient in DUI law in your corner is a necessity from the start, which is at the arraignment when you are formally notified of the charges against you and a plea is entered.
Extreme DUI laws In Scottsdale, Arizona
Extreme and Super Extreme DUIs are considered felony charges in Scottsdale, AZ and a person can be charged with an Extreme DUI if the person’s blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is between 0.15 and 0.20 BAC. Super Extreme DUI begins at 0.20 BAC. At these levels, intoxication is typically obvious to traffic officers. The level of intoxication and impairment can be different depending on a person’s size, weight, alcohol tolerance, gender and how fast the body’s metabolism processes alcohol. According to researchers, having a BAC between 0.15 and 0.20 produces mood swings, anger, sadness, mania, and inappropriate social behavior such as becoming obnoxious. A BAC of 0.31 up to 0.40 causes unconsciousness, and death is possible. Death is certain at 0.41.
Zero-Tolerance For Extreme DUI Offenders In Arizona
Arizona lawmakers adopted a zero-tolerance law allowing police to arrest a driver even if the BAC was less than the base legal limit of 0.08 if the officer had reason to suspect the driver was slightly impaired. Zero-tolerance was intended to discourage teenagers from drinking and driving and to satisfy the federal National Highway Systems Designation Act of 1995. The act withheld federal highway funds to states that didn’t use a 0.02 BAC as the limit for drivers younger than the state’s drinking age, 21 in Arizona.
Penalties For Extreme & Super Extreme DUI In Arizona
Extreme and super extreme DUI convictions have harsh penalties to punish and serve as a deterrent. The penalties for extreme DUI are:
For a first offense, the defendant is facing the following.
A second extreme DUI offense that happens within 84 months of the first one brings
The penalties for a super extreme DUI are:
A first Super Extreme DUI offense demands the following.
A second Super Extreme DUI offense within 84 months of the first DUI conviction
If you or someone you love has been charged with an extreme or super extreme DUI in Arizona, it is advisable to seek qualified and experienced DUI counsel and protect your freedom and your reputation.
Fill out the form below to recieve a free and confidential intial consultation.
Click here for important legal disclaimer.