It is a misdemeanor for any person in the state of Arizona to have a blood, breath or other bodily substance alcohol concentration of 0.08 or higher within two hours of being in physical control or driving a vehicle. The alcohol concentration maximum is 0.04 if the vehicle requires the driver to hold a commercial driver license. If an individual’s alcohol concentration is between 0.05 and 0.08, that fact along with other evidence can be used to convict an individual of driving under the influence, DUI.
Individuals who are convicted of first offense misdemeanor DUI must serve 10 days in jail, pay fines and fees in excess of $2,000.
If you are convicted of DUI with a blood, breath or other bodily substance alcohol content of 0.15 but less than 0.20, is guilty of extreme influence of intoxicating liquor, a class 1 misdemeanor. He must serve a minimum of 30 days in jail and, depending on whether his blood alcohol content was over or under 0.20, will be fined between $250 and $500 and assessment fees of $2,250.
Individuals are guilty of aggravated DUI if they are convicted of an additional DUI while their license is revoked from a prior DUI conviction or while required to have a certified ignition interlock device on their vehicle, commits a third offense DUI within 7 years of a second conviction, or had a minor under the age of 15 years in the vehicle at the time of the DUI offense.
Individuals who are convicted of aggravated DUI must serve a minimum sentence of eight months in jail and complete an alcohol treatment program. Individuals found guilty of aggravated DUI can be given a jail sentence of up to two years. In addition, they must pay fines and assessments of $4,000.
Click one of the following buttons for more in-depth information on First Offense DUI charges in Arizona:
Any person convicted of a DUI in the state of Arizona will have their license revoked. In some cases, the individual may be eligible for a special restricted ignition interlock driver license. A special restricted ignition interlock driver license will not be issued until all fines and assessments have been paid. After the driver license suspension period, an individual may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on his vehicle or a vehicle that he regularly operates.
If you would like to get a free case review, give us a call at (602) 307-0808 to schedule a time that works for you. The consultation takes about 30 minutes in our office and we will cover your case from top to bottom and make our recommendations on how you should proceed. Feel free to send us an email using our secure form.
How useful was this post?
Click on a star to rate it!
/ 5. Vote count:
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Thanks for your feedback!