In Arizona, a DUI is considered an Extreme DUI offense if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is between .150 and .199. A third offense simply means that you have been convicted for any DUI two times in the last seven years, regardless of your BAC.
David Cantor explains a Third Offense Extreme DUI in Arizona:
If you are convicted of a third DUI in a period of seven years, any DUI can be charged either as an Aggravated DUI felony. This can mean prison time and other problems for you. On some occasion, the city will charge you with a misdemeanor DUI instead and offer you six months of jail time, with work release 12 hours a day for five days a week. One of the reasons as to why a City court would charge you with a misdemeanor for a third DUI is that they likely have an issue collecting proof for your previous DUIs. If a prior DUI has occurred in another state, they may have no fingerprints on file, the guilty plea proceeding form may be absent from the record, or any other necessary document may be missing from the file. In this case, making the prior admissible would become very cumbersome and expensive for the City court. For this reason, you should always get an experienced DUI attorney who has the ability to challenge your previous DUI convictions.
Should you be convicted of a third time misdemeanor Extreme DUI, the sentence handed out by courts will be 180 days in jail, which will cost you $14,500 and additional fines are $4,649. If you hold a commercial driver’s license, you will lose it. Should you work in certain regulated professions, such as the legal field, healthcare, real estate, finance, or the military, your employment could be terminated. You will also be required to complete an alcohol screening ($50) and attend mandatory substance abuse classes, costing $585. You will also be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle, costing $2,400. Finally, your driver’s license will be suspended for a minimum of a year.
You should also consider the fact that your car insurance will go up by $3,000 over the next three years ($9,000). You will also need to maintain an SR-22 insurance policy on your vehicle during these three years, which will cost $500 per year ($1,500).
Here is a summary of the consequences of a third time Extreme DUI in Arizona:
Do you have 30 minutes to speak 1-on-1 with a lawyer about your case?
Speak with a Phoenix DUI Lawyer
– Click Here to Schedule –
As you can see, the punishment for a third time Extreme DUI is very serious. Our firm has been very successful defending DUI cases in Arizona; please check out our Victories section on our website. If you or a loved one has been suspected of a third time extreme DUI in Arizona, please call our offices at (602) 307-0808 to get a Free Consultation for your case. Our offices are available 24 hours a day via phone or confidential email.
[Total: 0 Average: 0]