In Arizona, people who are pulled over while driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) between .150 and .199 will be charged with Extreme DUI. This is a serious charge that carries heavy penalties that are made even worse when the Extreme DUI is a second offense (ARS §28-1382(E)). Second time charges can be added if the current Extreme DUI charge occurred within seven years of a previous DUI charge. Drivers can be charged with second offense Extreme DUI even if their previous DUI was not an Extreme DUI.
David Cantor explains the 2nd time misdemeanor Extreme DUI in Arizona:
Drivers who are charged with second time misdemeanor Extreme DUI in Arizona face severe punishment. State law requires that defendants who are found guilty such charges be sentenced to jail for at least 120 days. Court costs and other fines total $13,744 – Total Fines Below.
People who are found guilty of second offense misdemeanor Extreme DUI will have their driver’s license suspended for one full year and are not permitted to drive at all, even for work. This has severe consequences for people who work in areas without public transportation or who need to drive as part of their jobs. After the one-year suspension expires, drivers must have their car fitted with an instrument called an ignition interlock device, for 18 months at a cost of $1,800. This device will only allow the car to start if the driver blows into it and does not have any alcohol in his or her system. Authorities check the chip in the device every three months to ensure that it is functioning properly and that the driver never operates the car under the influence of alcohol.
After jail time is completed following a guilty verdict, drivers must fulfill other legal requirements that impose a heavy burden of time and money. Drivers must complete a drunk driving and alcohol education course. This course lasts for 36 sessions and costs $585. People enrolled in the course must pass a drug and alcohol screening that costs $50. Drivers must also perform 30 hours of community service.
A Second offense Extreme DUI conviction will result in a three-year drastic increase in car insurance. You will be required to have an SR-22 policy which is $500 a year for 3 years ($1,500). And you can expect your car insurance premiums to increase $3,000 a year for the next 3 years ($9,000).
Do you have 30 minutes to speak 1-on-1 with a lawyer about your case?
Speak with a Phoenix DUI Lawyer
– Click Here to Schedule –
Here is a short review of the penalties incurred after a second time Extreme DUI guilty verdict:
The total costs associated with a conviction of a second time Extreme DUI in Arizona is: $26,679
Anyone facing a second offense Extreme DUI charge should contact the DMCantor immediately. Our firm has been very successful in reducing or dismissing DUI charges in Arizona see the DUI Victories section of our website. Call or email us now at (602) 307-0808 to get a Free Case Review.
[Total: 0 Average: 0]