A person who is convicted of a second offense DUI in Arizona (ARS §28-1381(K)) within 7 years of their first DUI, will need the assistance of an experienced DUI attorney. The DUI laws in Arizona are strict enough that you’ll have a high probability of spending time in jail for this second offense DUI. The judge has a right to sentence anyone charged with a second DUI offense to 90 days in jail. However, if the person agrees to take an alcohol class, he or she may only have to physically do 30 days of the sentence. Spending time in jail means the possibly losing one’s job or professional accreditation.
David Cantor explains the penalties for a 2nd Offense Misdemeanor DUI in Arizona:
With a conviction of a second offense DUI in Arizona, you’ll have to pay a whole host of fines and penalties. One of the penalties is to complete 36 alcohol classes at an expense of $585 and also includes an alcohol screening for $50. You will also be responsible for $3,500 worth of fines, surcharges and assessments as well. If you choose to drive legally after a 1 year driver’s license revocation, you will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed for a year at a cost of $1,200. In addition to all the previously stated expenses, the person will also have to hand over an additional $3,000 per year for 3 years ($9,000) in raised car insurance premiums and 3 years of an SR-22 insurance policy at $500 per year ($1,500).
Let us review the costs associated with a second offense charge of Misdemeanor DUI in Arizona:
If you choose to continue driving legally, the total cost of a Second Offense Misdemeanor DUI in Arizona is: $18,335.
If you are charged or suspected of a Second Offense DUI in Arizona then you should give our offices a call for a Free Case Review. Our offices are available 24 hours a day by calling (602) 307-0808 or by sending us a confidential email.
[Total: 0 Average: 0]