In the State of Arizona a DUI is considered “super extreme” if the blood alcohol content of the driver is 0.20 or higher. If you are convicted of a super extreme DUI and haven’t had any other DUI convictions within the last seven years, you’re looking at a mandatory minimum sentence of 45 days in jail. You’ll also have to pay back jail costs of at least $3,750 and additional fines of $3,244. You will then have to pay $50 to have a substance abuse screening, plus another $585 so you can take 36 required alcohol abuse classes.
Watch this short video about the Super Extreme Penalties in Arizona:
For three months after you’re convicted, you won’t be able to drive. Once you get your license back, you’ll have to have an ignition interlock device hooked up to your car for 18 months, which can cost anywhere from $1,500 to $1,800. This means you’ll have to do a breath test every time you start your car you will have to do it again every 15 minutes if you’re driving for longer than a quarter of an hour. An SR22 auto insurance policy is also required. You’ll have to pay a $500 fee every year for three years so your insurance agency can contact the DMV if you somehow stop being insured. If you choose to drive and insure your car, then expect an increase in insurance expense of at least $3,000 each year for the next three years because of your DUI conviction.
Let’s review the costs of a First Offense Super Extreme DUI in Arizona:
Estimated Cost if you decide to drive and insure a car – $19,929!
If you decide to forego driving for a few years, you’ll still owe $9,429 for your First Offense Super Extreme DUI!
If you or a loved one has been suspected of Super Extreme DUI in Arizona then you need to give us a call to get a Free Case Review. Our offices can be reached 24 hours a day via email, or by calling our office now at (602) 307-0808. For more information regarding the Super Extreme DUI laws in Arizona, click here. Please be sure to review our DUI case victories.
[Total: 0 Average: 0]